Starke County Economic Development Foundation, Inc.

Three Starke County High School Students Awarded Teaching Scholarships

Three Starke County high school students are among the 200 Indiana students who have been named as winners of the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarships.  A total of 367 students applied for these scholarships, with applications coming from 82 of Indiana's 92 counties and from a total of 213 High Schools.  The scholarships are valued at $7,500 annually, up to a total of $30,000.  Students had to graduate in the highest 20% of their high school class, or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on either the SAT or ACT to be eligible for the scholarship.  They must maintain a 3.0 GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year for the scholarship to continue.

The successful trio of students from Starke County were Madeline Hewlett from Knox High Schpol, who will attend Valparaiso University, Andrew Vanasdall from Knox High School, who plans to attend Ball State University, and Elaine Zebell from Oregon-Davis Jr/Sr High School, who plans to attend Purdue University Northwest.